Alex Palou Wins Indy Grand Prix Saturday, May 13, 2023 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

By Zorba Rose

Dominating the last third of the race, Alex Palou won the 2023 GMR Grand Prix by 15 seconds. This win moves the Chip Ganassi racing driver to the lead of the 2023 IndyCar Series.

Arrow McLaren drivers’ Pato O’Ward finished second and Alexander Rossi third.

The first half of the race was controlled Christian Lundgaard. The Rahal Letterman Lanigan driver started the race today in pole position. 

A strategy call for the second pit stop put Lundgaard on the alternate red tires during the second stint. Palou and O’Ward were on the primary black tires.

“We honestly knew we had a fast car since P1 yesterday,” Palou said. “The car has been amazing all weekend. Once we knew we were starting on reds, I think we knew we were going to fight for the win.”

Using the primary black tire was the correct call and Palou took the lead on lap 65.

Palou is a first time winner of the GMR Grand Prix. Past winners include, three time winner Will Power, two time winner Simon Pagenaud and one time winners Colton Herta and Rinus VeeKay.

This is Chip Ganassi Racing’s first victory at the GMR Grand Prix. Ganassi Racing’s other road course win at Indianapolis Motor Speedway was at the 2020 during the summer race with driver Scott Dixon.

Rate this post

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 3 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Bloomingtonian on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!