Indy 500 – The Biggest Winner! – By Zorba Rose

By Zorba Rose – Bloomingtonian Motorsports Correspondent

This award goes to driver R.C. Enerson driving the No. 50 car for Abel Motorsports qualifying for the race in 29th position. The team at Abel Motorsports over-produced, and they made it into the race with minimal practice and experience.

“It’s crazy that he isn’t a full-time IndyCar driver,” said John Brunner, Abel Motorsport team manager. ”He just strapped himself in there and there wasn’t any rust. Anything we asked him to do, he just does it.”

Top Teams

Arrow McLaren has improved and they are becoming a team to watch at Indy. All four drivers made the Top 12 shootout, and they are looking good for race day.

3rd Felix Rosenqvist – No. 6, Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet
5th – Pato O’Ward – No. 5, Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet

7th – Alexander Rossi – No. 7, Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet
9th – Tony Kanaan – No. 66, Arrow McLaren, Chevrolet

Chip Ganassi Racing maintains its spot as one of the greatest racing teams ever run at Indianapolis. All four of their drivers were in the top 12 shootout and Alex Palou won Pole Position.

Pole Position  – Alex Palou – No. 10, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

6th – Scott Dixon – No. 9, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda 

8th – Takuma Sato – No. 11, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda 

10th – Marcus Ericsson – No. 8, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda 

Pleasant surprise

A.J.! A.J.! A.J! A.J. Foyt Enterprises has had an outstanding May, with two cars in the fast 12. 

4th – Santino Ferrucci – No. 14, A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet

11th – Benjamin Pedersen – No. 55, A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet

Rinus VeeKay and Ed Carpenter Racing just avoided catastrophe during Sunday’s Fast 12 and Fast 6, when a major problem with their power unit forced the engineers into overtime. But they put it all back together and qualified second. 

2nd – Rinus VeeKay – No. 21, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

Unpleasant Surprise

The turn 1 accident Monday with Katherine Legge and Stefan Wilson. Wilson hurt his back and will not drive the No. 24 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Crusick Motorsports, Chevrolet. Heal quick Stefan.

On Tuesday, it was announced that Graham Rahal will be driving the number 24 car for Dryer & Reinbold Racing/Cusich Motorsports, Chevrolet, in the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday.

The Rookies

Benjamin Pederson led the rookies last week, but all four of them qualified for the Race.

11th – Benjamin Pedersen – No. 55, A.J. Foyt Enterprises, Chevrolet

27th – Agustin Canapino – No. 78, Juncos Hollinger Racing, Chevrolet
29th – R.C. Enerson – No. 50, Abel Motorsports, Chevrolet

32nd  – Sting Ray Robb –  No 51, Dale Coyne Racing, Honda

Rate this post

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Bloomingtonian on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!