Scott Dixon Holds Off Graham Rahal for Victory at Gallagher Grand Prix of the NTT INDYCAR SERIES

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA – AUGUST 12: Indy Car drivers, left to right, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver Graham Rahal (15) of United States, Chip Ganassi Racing driver Scott Dixon (9) of New Zealand, and Arrow McLaren SP driver Pato O’Ward (5) of Mexico celebrate with champaign on the podium after the 2023 Gallagher Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on August 12, 2023 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Dixon won the race, Rahal was second, and O’Ward third. (Photo by Jeremy Hogan/The Bloomingtonian)

Staff report

Indianapolis,Ind. – August 12, 2023

In a thrilling race at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Scott Dixon emerged victorious, fending off Graham Rahal in the Gallagher Grand Prix on Saturday.

Dixon, piloting car No. 9, secured his 54th career victory in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, showcasing his mastery over the 2.439-mile road course. The seasoned driver led for an 34 laps, clocking a total time of 01:51:24.7579 to secure the top spot.

Rahal, starting from pole position in car No. 15, kept the pressure on Dixon during the 85-lap race, crossing the finish line just a mere 0.4779 seconds behind the winner. His 36 laps in the lead demonstrated his pursuit of victory.

Pato O’Ward in car No. 5 claimed the third spot, finishing 7.0925 seconds after Dixon. Despite not leading any laps, O’Ward’s performance allowed him to secure valuable points.

Christian Lundgaard in car No. 45 displayed a competitive spirit, leading for 7 laps and ultimately securing the fourth position. Alexander Rossi, in car No. 7, completed the top five, further contributing to a battle for victory.

Rate this post

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Bloomingtonian on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!