Stars of INDYCAR Series Gear Up for 62nd Annual Rolex 24 At Dayton

Rewritten from announcement

Indianapolis, Indiana – December 11, 2023

The motorsports world is abuzz as several luminaries from the NTT INDYCAR SERIES and INDY NXT by Firestone secure spots for the highly anticipated 62nd annual Rolex 24 At Daytona. Set to kick off the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship at Daytona International Speedway, the event promises an electrifying start to the U.S. motorsports calendar in 2024.

A lineup of at least 60 cars will grace the track, featuring renowned names such as Scott Dixon, a six-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion and three-time Rolex 24 overall victor, alongside reigning Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge winner Josef Newgarden. Additionally, the collaboration between podcast partners Alexander Rossi and James Hinchcliffe further spices up the competition.

Rossi, the triumphant 2016 Indianapolis 500 victor, adds allure to the event after clinching victory at the 2021 Rolex 24. Rossi and Hinchcliffe co-host “Off Track with Hinch and Rossi,” a popular motorsports podcast.

Scheduled for Jan. 25-28 on the 3.56-mile road course, the Rolex 24 weekend promises high-octane excitement.

This week, IMSA distributed a preliminary entry list, revealing the participation of seven NTT INDYCAR SERIES drivers. Five drivers will compete in the Grand Touring Pro (GTP) class, while Rossi and Kyle Kirkwood are set to feature in GTD Pro. Esteemed team owners Roger Penske, Chip Ganassi, Michael Andretti, Bobby Rahal, and 1996 INDYCAR SERIES champion Jimmy Vasser will field cars through various alliances.

Dixon and Tom Blomqvist will represent the Cadillac program in GTP. Dixon’s No. 01 Cadillac Racing team includes Sebastien Bourdais, a four-time INDYCAR SERIES champion and 2014 Rolex 24 overall winner, alongside Renger van der Zande. Blomqvist, a two-time winner in recent years, will share the No. 31 Whelen Cadillac Racing entry with Pipo Derani and Jack Aitken.

Newgarden joins the No. 7 Porsche Penske Motorsports entry, featuring Matt Campbell, Felipe Nasr, and Frederic Makowiecki. Penske’s successful sports car operation, having secured victory at the Battle on the Bricks in September, plans to field two Porsche 963s in the upcoming season.

Returning to the Rolex 24, Colton Herta will team up with Jordan Taylor, Louis Deletraz, and 2009 Formula One champion Jenson Button in the Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti No. 40 entry. Meanwhile, Marcus Ericsson, winner of the 2022 Indianapolis 500, will pilot the team’s No. 10 car alongside Ricky Taylor, Felipe Albuquerque, and Brendon Hartley. Acura, co-owned by Andretti and Wayne Taylor, aims for its fourth consecutive overall win with a pair of Acura ARX-06 cars.

Notably, there are plans for 10 hybrid-electrified prototypes to compete in GTP.

In the Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2) category, recent INDY NXT by Firestone champion Christian Rasmussen and runner-up Hunter McElrea will compete. Rasmussen joins Era Motorsports in the No. 18 car, while McElrea drives for No. 11 TDS Racing, with a total of 12 entries in this class.

The GT Daytona Pro (GTD Pro) class boasts 13 entries, including the No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports McLaren 720 S piloted by Rossi, Hinchcliffe, Oliver Jarvis, and Marvin Kirchofer. Additionally, Kirkwood will join former NTT INDYCAR SERIES driver Jack Hawksworth and Ben Barnicoat in the No. 14 Lexus RC of Vasser Sullivan.

The GT Daytona (GTD) class features a robust lineup of 25 cars, including the No. 43 Andretti Motorsports entry, a Porsche 911, featuring Jarett Andretti and Gabby Chaves.

With the stage set for a thrilling competition, anticipation runs high for the 62nd annual Rolex 24 At Daytona, promising an adrenaline-packed start to the motorsports season in 2024.

Rate this post

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Bloomingtonian on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!