Press release: Nominations Are Now Open for the Norman Corwin Award for Excellence in Audio Theatre

The following was sent to the Bloomingtonian:

Press Release January 1, 2024

Nominations Are Now Open for the Norman Corwin Award for Excellence in Audio Theatre

The annual Corwin Award recognizes individuals or groups who have made substantial and important contributions to the art of audio theatre in the United States. Nominations may be submitted from now until March 15, 2024. The winner(s) are announced each year on May 3, Norman Corwin’s birthday, and they are presented at an event organized by the National Audio Theatre Festivals, Inc.

To nominate a living person or an existing group, visit the National Audio Theatre Festivals’ website by typing in and clicking on the Corwin Award link. Alternatively, nominations can be sent via email directly to [email protected].

There is a $35.00 fee for each nomination, which may be paid to the National Audio Theatre Festivals, Inc., by check, money order, credit card, or through Paypal or Venmo. If the nomination is accepted for consideration, payment arrangements will be made in a reply email.

Nominees should have worked in audio theatre for at least 10 years and created a substantial and significant body of work. They may be writers, actors, directors, musicians, or engineers. All fiction and nonfiction genres can be considered. Any American citizen or group can be eligible. Deceased individuals and disbanded groups may also be nominated for a Corwin Legacy Award. The Corwin Award showcases American achievements in the art.

Audio Theatre is defined as audio productions that have been written for or adapted to the audio medium, utilizing voices, sounds, and music. A simple reading of text written for the eye, such as an audiobook, does not qualify. Audio theatre may be associated with any audio medium, including radio broadcasts, analog or digital recordings in any form, podcasting, file sharing, or streaming online.

Norman Lewis Corwin (1910-2011) was hailed during his lifetime as the Grand Master of American Audio Theatre. He wrote, directed, and produced many widely acclaimed and nationally famous plays and pieces for radio broadcast, recordings, and the internet, starting in 1938 and continuing into the 21st Century. Working with virtually every major star and personality of his time, his creations have been tremendously influential throughout all the performing arts.

For more information, visit: Link to the Corwin Award Nominations page

“He was the greatest director, the greatest producer, and the greatest writer in the history of radio. Nobody could touch what he did.” – Ray Bradbury

The first award was given to Corwin himself on his 100th birthday. Previous winners of Legacy Awards include:

  • Tom Lopez
  • Yuri Rasovsky
  • The Firesign Theatre
  • Himan Brown
  • Charles Potter
  • Orson Welles
  • Peggy Webber
  • Stan Freberg
  • Erik Bauersfeld
  • William Dufris
  • Judith Walcutt
  • Jeffrey Kraus
  • Jerry Stearns
  • Dr. Linda McAlister
  • Brian Price
  • Marjorie Van Halteren
  • Miles B. Smith
  • The Atlanta Radio Theatre Company
  • Sue Zizza
  • Fred Greenhalgh

Rate this post

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 3 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Bloomingtonian on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!