Press release: Mayor Thomson Announces Board and Commission Appointments

The following was sent to the Bloomingtonian:


January 19, 2024

For more information, please contact:

Crystal Ritter, Interim Director of Public Engagement, Office of the Mayor

[email protected] or 812-349-3406

Angela Van Rooy, Interim Communications Director, Office of the Mayor

[email protected] or 812-349-3505



Residents step up to answer the call

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Before taking office, Mayor Kerry Thomson put out a call to the community, asking residents to get involved in their local government by volunteering to serve on City boards and commissions. The community has answered that call, and today Thomson is pleased to announce her appointments to the following boards and commissions.

Bloomington Urban Enterprise Association

Philip Amerson

Chris Cockerham

Virginia Githiri

Mike Hover

Jane Kupersmith

Heather Robinson

Board of Public Safety

Philip Amerson

Jon Barada

Barbara McKinney

Maqubé Reese

Board of Public Works

James Roach

Capital Improvement Board

Jay Baer

Adam Thies

Plan Commission 

Chris Cockerham

Chris Smith

Redevelopment Commission

Deborah Hutton

Sue Sgambelluri

John West

“As we work to build an even better Bloomington, bringing new voices and different perspectives to the table is essential to our future success,” added Thomson. “I am grateful to the many residents who have stepped up to serve our community in this way and look forward to their contributions to our community.”

Residents interested in serving on one of the City’s many boards and commissions, may explore the various opportunities and submit applications by visiting onBoard, the City’s board and commission dashboard.


Rate this post

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Bloomingtonian on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!