Herta, Palou Head Honda Front Row Qualifying Sweep At the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix


Written from press releases

June 1, 2024 — DETROIT, MI

Colton Herta claimed the pole position in a thrilling qualifying session for Sunday’s NTT INDYCAR SERIES race on the streets of downtown Detroit. The Andretti Global Honda driver edged out defending race winner and series champion Alex Palou by just 0.152 seconds, securing his first pole of the 2024 season and the 12th of his career.

“It feels good to come back strong after last weekend’s disappointment,” Herta said, referencing his crash at the Indianapolis 500. “It’s so hard to get a clean lap here with the bumps and walls, but that makes it even more rewarding.”

Palou, the Chip Ganassi Racing driver, completed an all-Honda front row and expressed his satisfaction with the performance. “We were fast today, but I’m not sure if we were better than Colton. The car has been awesome since Practice 1, and we’re looking forward to tomorrow,” Palou said.

Honda drivers dominated the top positions, with Palou’s teammate Scott Dixon starting fifth and Kyle Kirkwood of Andretti Global rounding out the top six. The qualifying results underscored Honda’s strong presence in the series, with six drivers in the top 11 positions.

Detroit Grand Prix Honda Qualifying Results:

  1. Colton Herta (Andretti Global Honda)
  2. Alex Palou (Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)
  3. Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)
  4. Kyle Kirkwood (Andretti Global Honda)
  5. Marcus Ericsson (Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)
  6. Christian Lundgaard (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda)
  7. Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda)
  8. Pietro Fittipaldi (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda)
  9. Marcus Armstrong (Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)
  10. Linus Lundqvist (Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) – Rookie
  11. Felix Rosenqvist (Meyer Shank Racing Honda)
  12. Kyffin Simpson (Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) – Rookie
  13. Tristan Vautier (Dale Coyne Racing with RWR Honda)
  14. Helio Castroneves (Meyer Shank Racing Honda)
  15. Jack Harvey (Dale Coyne Racing Honda)

Fast Facts:

  • Honda drivers and teams have won seven of the last 10 NTT INDYCAR SERIES events in Detroit, including last year’s race on the new downtown street circuit, which was won by Palou.
  • After five championship rounds of the 2024 season, Palou leads the Drivers’ Championship standings with 183 points. Dixon is second with 163 points.

Where to Watch: Television coverage of Sunday’s Detroit Grand Prix starts at 12 p.m. ET on the USA Network. Complete, flag-to-flag race coverage will also be available on NBC Peacock, the INDYCAR Radio Network, and SiriusXM INDYCAR Nation (Channel 160).

Follow Honda Racing and HRC US on social media:

Rate this post

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Bloomingtonian on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!